Where Do We Go From Here? Chapter Two

Where Do We Go From Here? - Chapter Two

I have made the decision to take one of my micro flash fiction stories and flesh it out into a serial. The story that I chose to do this with is “Where Do We Go From Here?” (http://theworldofflashfiction.wordpress.com/2012/07/14/where-do-we-go-from-here/) . I have no idea how long this serial is going to be. It will have some twists and turns, and it will end when it ends! Enjoy!

Annie couldn’t put her finger on it, but she knew something was wrong. It was not just that the house did not seem the same without Karl there – it actually seemed different. And not different in a nice way. She felt like she was being watched all the time. Nothing was out of place, yet everything was out of place. Shutting down her computer, Annie picked up her purse and car keys. She smiled, and was immediately in a more upbeat mood. She was meeting Karen for drinks and dinner, and some girl talk.

Twenty minutes later Annie turned into the VIP parking at the Bellagio, and handed her keys to the parking attendant. She walked with a quick, assured stride into the hotel, turning left for the elevator to the second floor, where she would meet Karen at the Jasmine restaurant.

She spotted Karen immediately as she got off of the elevator.

“I hope you haven’t been waiting long! Traffic was not to be believed!”

Karen laughed. “No, I only just got here myself. Shall we have a drink and destress before dinner?”

“What a great idea! I feel like I am losing my mind!”

“I thought that things were going well with Karl?”

“Oh, things are going very well with Karl! One more week, and he will be back. Then another week, and we are off to Trinidad! I am so looking forward to that!”

“Okay … Then why are you losing your mind?”

By this time they had been seated at the bar, and their drinks were in front of them. Annie took a sip of wine, then spoke:

“I feel like I am being watched … at home, on the road, in the office. I turn, and no one is there, but I feel like my every thought is being recorded somewhere. It started when I dropped Karl off at the airport. A red car pulled out behind me, and I was sure it was following me. But it exited the freeway long before I did, and I didn’t see anyone else behind me. That feeling has stayed with me, though. I cannot shake it.”

“Have you had your house and car swept for bugs? I can put you in touch with people who do that. Maybe then you will feel better.”

“Silly as that sounds, I think it is a good idea. How soon can you have someone come to my home?”

“I just heard our names being called. You go ahead and get seated, and I will make the call.”

“Thank you! Thank you so much!”

Annie headed into the restaurant, and Karen walked outside to place her call.

“Franz, this is Karen. Things are moving fast here. We need a team to go to Annie’s house tomorrow morning, to remove the listening devices from her house and car. They will be ostensibly be checking for bugs. They need to tell her there are none, and they need to be believable. She is too smart to be deceived. Send your best men.”

Karen made one more call, then turned to go join Annie.

Chapter One - 

© August 2012 Bonnie Cehovet

14 comments on “Where Do We Go From Here? Chapter Two

  1. jeanhf says:

    Cliffhangers R us! My Bonnie but you do leave the reader wanting more… it feels a bit unsettling (probably because I’m just a little too close to the edge of the cliff!). This is death by a thousand cliffs, each one higher, each one just that little bit more uncertain of… oops! Landslide! Watch out below! LOL! Love your flash fiction! ♥

  2. Jean -

    It will be quite the journey! This is the first time I have done a serial!

    Blessings,
    Bonnie

  3. Bonnie, i enjoy so much both the story itself – and the process of your writing it! xxxx

Leave a Reply

