Credit Given

“What do I do?” Karen sat at her desk, facing the window so that she could see out. She tapped her pen on her desk, like a metronome. “What do I do?”

She didn’t even feel angry, which is what she had felt in the past when this had happened. She loved her work, and her ideas were razor sharp, even if she said so herself. It was not ego, it was reality. She had a very “outside the envelope” way of looking at things that often took projects not only in new directions, but way beyond their original conception. They were so good that others often went behind her back and took credit for them. This time she had made the decision to BCC her Executive Director (her boss’s boss) on the current project. It didn’t help … Eric (her boss) still took major credit for the project, and its new direction. Maybe she needed to seriously think about leaving.

Someone behind her gently cleared their throat. Coming out of her reverie, and turning around, she saw the Executive Director, right there in front of her! He smiled, stepped into the room, and held out his hand. As he shook her hand, he smiled at her.

“I wanted to come and talk to you in person. You may feel that because I allowed credit to go to Eric, ย that I didn’t realize that the ideas were yours. Or perhaps you might have thought that I didn’t care, as long as the project was brought to completion in the best possible manner. I did not get where I am by encouraging that type of behavior. I am here to offer you and executive position, working directly with me. I have noted that in areas that I am weak, you are strong. I have also noted that you interact with all levels of people with gentleness and integrity. This is a huge plus in my book! Karen, will you think about working directly with me?”

Karen sat down, stunned. She had made the right decision to BCC the Executive Director after all! A whole new world was opening up for her! There was no thinking ab out this decision! “Sir, I would be honored to work directly with you!”

(c) March 2012 Bonnie Cehovet

4 comments on “Credit Given

  1. nice. love it when that happens! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Lisa –

    I do too! And it does really happen. We need to be open to it, and honor it when it does. Life can be good! BTW – I just used one of your relationship spreads (the 14 card spread) with Marie’s “Mary-El Tarot” – what a powerful reading!

    Blessings,
    Bonnie

  3. Great story! How much you said with so very few words! Loved it!

  4. Lena –

    Thank you! I am trying to keep it to around 100 words – just to see if I can! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Blessings,
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

