Same Time Next Year



The day was calm … chilly, but calm. We sat on the benches, enjoying the time that we had together, and watching the waves come in. We had been doing this for years, meeting for a weekend here, a few days there. This was all that life permitted – we were okay with that, most of the time.

I had my work, which kept me very busy. He had his work, and … well, yes, there was a family, but his children were adults, with lives of their own, and his wife was a wife in name only. So why didn’t he leave?

I turned my mind back to the waves, where there was peace.

© April 2012 Bonnie Cehovet

6 comments on “Same Time Next Year

  1. because he needs to grow a pair first! nice one, Bonnie 🙂

  2. Lisa –

    LOL Maybe there is more than meets the eye – but my mind was going back to a Bogey/Bacall kind of thing, so that’s what came out. 😉

    Blessings,
    Bonnie

  3. angelsloveyou says:

    Love this! So many people have been through it, I’m sure.

    Is this a new blog?

  4. I am in love with your wording, Bonnie! I do hope these pearls of micro-fiction are coming out as a book!

  5. Lena –

    Thank you for your kind words! 🙂 I will think about the e-book! (I had never really thought about that before!)

    Blessings,
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

