Where Do We Go From Here? – Chapter Four

Where Do We Go From Here? – Chapter Four

I have made the decision to take one of my micro flash fiction stories and flesh it out into a serial. The story that I chose to do this with is “Where Do We Go From Here?” (https://theworldofflashfiction.wordpress.com/2012/07/14/where-do-we-go-from-here/) . I have no idea how long this serial is going to be. It will have some twists and turns, and it will end when it ends! Enjoy!

At 7 am a discrete black van pulled into Annie’s driveway. Two men got out – both were dressed in dark slacks, dark blazers, and dark gray shirts, with plain black ties. Annie was waiting right inside the door, and opened it immediately.

The taller of the two men spoke: “Good morning, Annie. My name is Michael Hardin, and this is my associate, Raphael Quinn. We have a mutual friend, Karen. We are here to help you.” Having said that, both men pulled out ID and showed them through the screen.

Annie unlocked the screen, and opened the screen door. “Come in please, gentlemen.” She led them into the living room, and gestured for them to sit down.

“How does this work? Will you be able to locate and remove any bugs? I don’t even know why I feel they are there, but I do. I want to thank you both for your time. This may well be a wild goose chase!”

“Ma’am, there is no such thing as a wild goose chase in our business. If we do find something, and remove it, we give our clients peace of mind. If we don’t find anything (and we use state of the art techniques), we give our clients peace of mind. The end result is … we give our clients peace of mind.”

“Thank you. I feel a little less silly about all of this. Where would you like to start?”

“We will sweep the house first, then Raphael will sweep your car, while I inspect your phones (land and cell), and any computers that you are using. If we find anything, we will carefully remove it, so that whoever placed it there won’t know it has been removed. We will trace where the signals are going, and it will be your decision as to whether you wish to take any further action.”

“Gentlemen, thank you very much. I already feel better about all of this.”

Michael Hardin and Raphael Quinn were the best team that Marcus had. They spent the next two hours quietly removing the devices that their associated had placed in the house and car just before Karl moved in. They assured Annie that there were no listening devices, and gave her a bit of advice on upping her security.

As they drove away, Annie had a thoughtful look on her face. She was sure that they had not been able to locate the security cameras that she had had placed in the home after her parents had been killed. She turned back into the house with a determined step, to make sure that the security team had been recorded before she went to work.

Prequil – https://theworldofflashfiction.wordpress.com/2012/07/14/where-do-we-go-from-here/

Chapter One – https://theworldofflashfiction.wordpress.com/2012/07/30/where-do-we-go-from-here-chapter-one/

Chapter Two – https://theworldofflashfiction.wordpress.com/2012/08/04/where-do-we-go-from-here-chapter-two/

Chapter Three – https://theworldofflashfiction.wordpress.com/2012/08/10/where-do-we-go-from-here-chapter-three/

© August 2012 Bonnie Cehovet

11 comments on “Where Do We Go From Here? – Chapter Four

  1. jeanhf says:

    Yes… and… ??? Love this flash fiction! I’m getting closer to the edge of my seat… cliffhanger! ♥ Love this Bonnie! ♥

  2. I love it Bonnie!!! You know what is the only thing that irks me – we can’t publish with traditional publishers what we post on our blogs! I mean really – myself, i don’t mind at all buying texts that were uploaded on the web, but that’s the first criteria publishers apply – that the work hasn’t been published/uploaded 😦 And i do want to see this story of your on paper – and your microfiction too! I was thinking also what to do about my essays as well – i might just self publish them.

    • Lena –

      But we can publish our work independently! 🙂 I may eventually offer this as an e-book. In a year or so, when people have forgotten that they can get it here free! 😉 I do hope that you self-publish your essays – you have a perspective that is both educated an unique, and is a pleasure to read. 🙂

      Blessings,
      Bonnie

      • Bonnie – i will get your ebook, anytime it comes out! I probably will publish the essays, but it’s such a nuisance to translate them into our language that i lose the will… Anyhow, i’ll keep writing as long as it makes me happy, we’ll see what happens later! xxxx

  3. Lena –

    Woo Hoo – I have one sale for my upcoming e-book! 🙂 I can understand about the translation – that is a job in itself, and you would want your work in your home language, as well as in English, and perhaps French, German and Spanish.

    I think you are like me … writing does make us happy! 🙂

    Blessings,
    Bonnie.

  4. […] Post navigation ← Where Do We Go From Here? – Chapter Four […]

Leave a Reply

