You Can’t Get There From Here

“You can’t get there from here.” I stared at the lady, who had just informed me that the streets I was asking about were not in this town. Then she had asked me what my destination was.

“You need to go to Bend, which is about twenty-eight miles from here. Take a right out of the parking lot, another right at the corner, and another right at the light. Then keep going for about twenty-eight miles, until you reach Bend. Take this street, and you will run right into US 20.”

I thanked her, and got back in my car. So much wasted time, time spent being lost, on  this trip. Now I felt that I could actually get there from here!

(c) Nvember 2015 Bonnie Cehovet

Reproduction prohibited without written permission of the author.

Leave a Reply

